March 2021 | www.belbin.com | © Belbin 2021
This document sets out our policy for responding to requests for deletion of data under Australian data protection law.
This document explains the rights of the data subject in relation to data deletion and the responsibilities of
Back2bikes in responding with such a request.
- Individual Rights
An individual has the right to erasure, also known as ‘the right to be forgotten’. The principle underpinning this
right is to enable an individual to request the deletion or removal of personal data where there is no compelling
reason for its continued processing.
- When does the right to erasure apply?
As stipulated in Australia data protection law, individuals have a right to have personal data erased and to prevent
processing in specific circumstances:
• Where the personal data is no longer necessary in relation to the purpose for which it was originally
• When the individual withdraws consent;
• When the individual objects to the processing and there is no other legal ground for the relevant
• When the personal data was unlawfully processed;
• Where the personal data has to be erased in order to comply with a legal obligation.
- What information does Back2bikes retain?
The Back2bikes online system “app” stores data about individuals as a part of their membership profile. We
If consent is provided, personal data (including the above, plus address, telephone number and notes) may be
stored in our CRM system for the purposes of contacting you regarding Back2bikes news, products and promotions.
- How can data be deleted?
We can remove your profile data, and make your record inactive on the system. Your personal details will be obscured, but your transaction history will remain as a part of the database for reporting purposes.
Data may still remain in the systems back-up files, which will be deleted periodically.
Information may be deleted from our CRM upon request to email@example.com. We undertake to perform the
deletion within one month (30 calendar days) and will send you a confirmation once the information has been
deleted. Wherever possible, we will aim to complete the request in advance of the deadline.